San Juan Islands Travel Information

Crystal Seas is here to make kayaking in the San Juan Islands a highlight of your vacation! With the exception of a few of our Washington kayak tours which involve inns and/or biking, all of our tours start from San Juan Island. We offer complimentary pick-up in Friday Harbor as part of our kayak tours so all you have to do is get yourself there. Please don't hesitate to call us if you have any questions or just want to run your San Juan Island kayaking plans by us. Thanks and enjoy kayaking Washington State and the beautiful San Juan Islands.

How to Get to Friday Harbor Washington

We will generally pick you up right across from the Washington State Ferry terminal in Friday Harbor on San Juan Island unless other arrangements have been made. So all you have to do is get here! The most common ways to get to Friday Harbor from the Seattle area are:

Drive your own car, a rental or take the Airporter Shuttle to Anacortes (about 2 hours from Seattle and then walk-on (highly recommended - no ferry lines) or drive-on the Washington State Ferry to Friday Harbor (just over 1 hour).

Board the Victoria Clipper as a walk-on from downtown Seattle and get off in Friday Harbor (about 3-3.5 hours).

Take a flight with Kenmore Air from downtown Seattle or the SeaTac International Airport to Friday Harbor (about 40 minutes).

back to top

Driving to Friday Harbor from the Seattle Area

Head north on I-5 just past Mt. Vernon. Take exit 230, (Highway 20) westbound to Anacortes-San Juan Ferry. Follow "Anacortes-San Juan Ferry" signs. Drive through Anacortes and turn left at the light next to Safeway. Continue on this road until you come to the Washington State Ferry terminal. Park your car at the terminal and walk-on as a foot passenger or drive-on with your car. If you plan to drive on the ferry you should arrive at the ferry terminal 90 minutes to 2 hours in advance depending on the day.(Total Drive Time from 2 hours). We plan our kayak tours around the ferry schedule.

back to top

Driving to Friday Harbor from Bellingham or Vancouver, B.C.

Head south on I-5 until Burlington, if you reach Mt. Vernon you have gone to far. Take exit 230, (Highway 20) westbound to Anacortes-San Juan Ferry. Follow "Anacortes-San Juan Ferry" signs. Drive through Anacortes and turn left at light at Safeway. Continue on this road until you come to the Washington State Ferry terminal. Park your car at the terminal and walk-on as a foot passenger or drive-on with your car. You will be kayaking Washington State so you will not need a passport. If you plan to drive on the ferry you should arrive at the ferry terminal 90 minutes to 3 hours in advance depending on the day. Total Drive Time from Bellingham: 1 hour. Total Drive Time from Vancouver, B.C.: 2 hours plus border crossing time of 30 min.- 1 hour

back to top

Shuttling to Friday Harbor from Seattle to the Washington State Ferry Terminal in Anacortes

Gray Line - (800) 426-7532 ...bus service from downtown Seattle to Anacortes. Then you take the Washington State Ferry to San Juan Island where you will find your kayaking Washington tour.

back to top

Shuttling to Friday Harbor from the Seattle-Tacoma International Airport to the Washington State Ferry Terminal in Anacortes

Airporter Shuttle - (800) 448-8443 ...scheduled shuttle service from the Seattle airport to Anacortes.

Bellair Shuttle - (800) 235-5247 ...chartered shuttle service from the airport to Anacortes.

Via the land to Sidney, B.C....

Gray Line - (800) 426-7532 ...bus service from downtown Victoria, B.C.

Boating to Friday Harbor from Anacortes

Washington State Ferries - (800) 84-FERRY or (206)464-6400 ...the main access for foot-passengers, bicycles, cars, boats, motor homes. This is the most common way to get to your San Juan Island sea kayaking adventure.

back to top

Boating to Friday Harbor from from downtown Seattle

Victoria Clipper (San Juan Explorer) - (800) 888-2535 ...foot-passenger only ferry.

back to top

Boating to Friday Harbor from Bellingham

San Juan Island Shuttle Express - (360) 671-1137 ...seasonal foot-passenger only ferry.

back to top

Boating to Friday Harbor from Everett

Mosquito Fleet - (206) 787-6400 ...seasonal foot-passenger only ferry.

Boating to Friday Harbor from Port Townsend

Puget Sound Express - (360) 385-5288 ...seasonal foot-passenger only ferry.

back to top

Boating to Friday Harbor from Sidney, B.C., which is about 30 minutes from Victoria, B.C. on Vancouver Island.

Washington State Ferries - (800) 84-FERRY or (206)464-6400 ...the main access for foot-passengers, bicycles, cars, boats, motor homes...

back to top

Boating to Friday Harbor from Victoria, B.C.

Victoria Clipper (San Juan Explorer) - (800) 888-2535 or (206) 448-5000 or (250) 382-8100

back to top

Flying to Friday Harbor...

Kenmore Air - (800) 543-9595 ...float plane service from Lake Union and Lake Washington in the Seattle area

San Juan Airlines - (800) 690-0086 ...float plane and regular service near Sea-Tac International Airport. If you do not want to rent a car, this is a common way to get to your kayaking vacation.

West Isle Air - (800) 874-4434 ...scheduled and charter flights from Anacortes and Boeing Field.

back to top

Accommodations on San Juan Island

Argyle House Bed & Breakfast www.argylehouse.net 360-378-4084

Friday Harbor Suites www.fridayharborsuites.com 360-378-3031

Blair House Bed & Breakfast www.fridayharborlodging.com 360-472-1062

Bird Rock Hotel http://www.birdrockhotel.com 360-378-5848

Discovery Inn www.discovery-inn.com 360-378-2000

Dragonfly Inn www.thedragonflyinn.com 360-378-4287

Earthbox Inn & Spa www.earthboxinn.com 360-378-4000

Friday Harbor House www.fridayharborhouse.com 360-378-8455

Friday Harbor Lights www.fridayharborlights.com 360-378-4317

Harrison House Suites B&B www.harrisonhousesuites.com 360-378-3587

Highland Inn www.highlandinn.com 360-378-9450

Hillside House www.hillsidehouse.com 360-378-4730

Inn To The Woods Bed & Breakfast www.inntothewoods.com 360-378-3367

The Island Inn at 123 West Friday Harbor 360 378 4400

Juniper Lane Guest House www.juniperlaneguesthouse.com 360-378-7761

Kirk House www.kirkhouse.net 360-378-3757

Lakedale Resort www.lakedale.com 360-378-2350

Lonesome Cove Resort www.lonesomecove.com 360-378-4477

Mar Vista Resort www.marvistaresort.com 360-378-4448

Marina Inn Hotel Anacortes www.MarinaInnWa.com 800-231-5198

Nichols Street Suites www.lodging-fridayharbor.com 360-378-2638

Olympic Lights www.olympiclights.com 360-378-3186

The Orca Inn orcainnwa.com 360-378-2724

Snug Harbor Resort www.snugresort.com 360-378-4762

States Inn www.statesinn.com 360-378-6240

Tucker House B & B, with Cottages www.tuckerhouse.com 360-378-2783

Trumpeter Inn www.trumpeterinn.com 360-378-3884

Wharfside B&B www.slowseason.com 360-378-5661

Wildwood Manor www.wildwoodmanor.com/ 360-378-3447

Wayfarer's Rest www.rockisland.com/~wayfarersrest 360-378-6428

back to top

Activities on San Juan Island

San Juan Excursions - Whale & Wildlife Cruises aboard the classic yacht 'Odyssey' - www.watchwhales.com 360-378-6636

Susie's Moped Rentals www.susiesmopeds.com 360-378-5244

Island Bicycles www.islandbicycles.com 360-378-4941

The Whale Museum www.whalemuseum.org 360-378-4710

San Juan Golf & Country Club www.sanjuangolfandcountryclub.com 360-378-2254

San Juan Vineyards www.sanjuanvineyards.com 360-378-9463

Simply San Juan Guide http://www.simply-san-juan.com

back to top

San Juan Islands Real Estate

Chris Spaulding San Juan Islands Real Estate

back to top

Restaurants on San Juan Island

Backdoor Kitchen www.backdoorkitchen.com 360-378-9540

Cannery House Restaurant 360-378-6505

Coho Restaurant www.cohorestaurant.com 360-378-6330

Downriggers www.downriggerssanjuan.com 360-378-2700

Duck Soup Inn www.ducksoupinn.com 360-378-4878

Friday Harbor House www.fridayharborhouse.com 360-378-8455

One Twenty Nichols www.120nichols.com 360-378-6330

The Place Bar & Grill www.theplacesanjuan.com 360-378-8707

Vinny's Ristorante http://www.vinnysfridayharbor.com/ 360-378-1934

back to top

Baby Sitting Service

Island Sitters 360-298-4052

Shopping in Friday Harbor

Daisy Bloom 360-370-5180

Dan Levin Originals www.heartoftheislands.com 360-378-205l

Dominique's www.dominiquesclothing.com 360-378-6454

Friday Harbor Trading Co. www.fridayharbortrading.com 360-378-6660

Funk & Junk Antiques www.rockisland.com/~funkon 360-378-2638

The Garuda & I www.thegarudaandi.com 360-378-3733

Griffin Bay Bookstore www.griffinbaybook.com 360-378-5511

San Juan Hot Shop & Flavor Emporium sanjuanhotshop.com 360-378-5978

Island Wine 360-378-3229

Nash Brothers Sporting Goods 360-378-6271

Osito's 360-378-4320

Second Act 360-378-3828

Serendipity: The Used Book Place 360-378-2665

The Toy Box 360-378-8889

back to top

Follow us for ca$h saving specials:

Call Toll Free Now: 877-732-7877